Posted by: John-Paul | October 3, 2011

How I’m Preparing for NaNoWriMo, Part 1

Suppose a successful landowner of ancient Israel refused to give back the land and free his slaves as required by Yahweh’s Law in the year of Jubilee. What if a lame veteran of Gideon’s war with the Midianites and his Levite friend conducted guerilla raids against the rich landowner in an effort to make him follow Yahweh’s Law?

That is the story I plan to tell in Jubilee, my fourth novel of ancient Israel. And, as motivation to get a lousy first draft down on paper (actually into a computer file), I will participate in this year’s NaNoWriMo.

For the past twelve years, the NaNoWriMo organization has set before authors the goal of getting on paper more than 50,000 words of a new novel. It’s to be written entirely in the month of November (National Novel Writing Month) and it need be only a lousy first draft. Editing and rewriting may begin in December.

Last year, I started out writing the second book of the ancient Israel series and failed. While I had a general format to follow (a hero’s journey), I wasn’t prepared enough and didn’t work hard enough to meet the 50K-word goal.

This year, things will be different; I am outlining. I have completed a rough outline of events (a basic plot) and am gradually adding more ideas. I am following Bob Mayer’s advice, given in The Novel Writer’s Toolkit: From Idea to Best-Seller. I plan to have a detailed (scene-by-scene) outline to follow when I start the actual writing November 1.

Who else will be writing a novel in November? How are you preparing for success?

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

