Posted by: John-Paul | February 6, 2012

Anguish in the Wilderness – A Story

Holy Father, after so many years of reading the sacred writings and waiting for You to fulfill the prophecies, the time has come for me! I thank You for finally calling me to do Your work. I obeyed Your will to be baptized by Cousin John. You filled me with Your Spirit and I am overjoyed that You spoke and called me Your son, Your beloved! Thank You, holy Father!

You have brought me into the wilderness to strengthen my dependence on You. Believe me, I do depend on Your love and care.

However, I am troubled.

From the writings, I have learned all that was prophesied about me. “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me because the Lord has anointed me to preach good tidings to the poor. He has sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to those who are bound.”

But I’m a man. I can’t do these great things prophesied about me.

Fear not, for I am with you. Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you. Yes, I will help you. I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.

Remember the stories of Moses, Elijah, Elisha. They were men who did great things because I was with them. My hand was with them. In the same way, My hand will be with you, working through you.

 Father, the pain in these people’s lives! Not only the aches of their diseases, their crippledness, their blindness. There are the sorrows of their guilts, their separations, their fears! How am I to bear all that?

 Surely He has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows. Yet we esteemed Him stricken, smitten by God, and afflicted.

You must experience all that with them. How else can they know that the Almighty sympathizes with their troubles?

Their leaders will hate me. A close companion will betray me! From my reading of the psalms, I can tell they will put me on a cross! Father, the rejection!

And so they have rejected Me. They have refused to acknowledge My love and care for them. They refused to depend on Me to meet their needs and so went their own ways. They hurt themselves and other people in the process. You must show them the better way.

Again, I will be with you until the end. The Spirit will strengthen you to bear it all. This is why I sent you.

 Oh, Father! All the filth of everyone’s sin will be on me! All Your anger at everyone’s rebellion will be on me! You will loathe me!

 Profound sorrow fills My heart. I must sacrifice My beloved son just as Abraham almost sacrificed his because he loved and trusted Me. And you, My son, must love and trust me just as Isaac did his father.

Yes, Father, I love You and trust You. From My mother’s womb You have been My God. I know the love You have for all the people of the world and I love them, too. I will trust and obey Your will.

Leave a Reply

Categories

