Posted by: John-Paul | October 30, 2012

The Curse of Winter Leaves

I waited three days for the rains to stop so the sun could dry the leaves that blanketed the back yard. Instead, the uncooperative weather brought a wet snow and I decided the job had to be done. Bundled warmly in a few layers of clothing, a winter cap, and cloth gloves, I used a leaf-blower to move leaves heavy with rain. Some were laden by clumps of wet snow.

Photo by Leping Zha

It wasn’t the rain dripping on my cap from the leaves still on the tree that sent me inside or the drudgery of the task. It was the biting cold of water-soaked gloves. Instead of a bath anticipated to remove the sweat of labor, I took a hot bath to warm up.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

