Posted by: John-Paul | October 14, 2015

I’M GOOD! Oh, really?

I’m Good

I shook my head vigorously to clear away confusion. Wha’ happen’?

I looked around. Through the cracked front windshield I saw the front of my car pressed against the trunk of a large tree, the hood crumpled. Daylight showed between the door beside me and the car body.

I raised a shaky hand to my forehead and felt a bump. The soreness wasn’t too painful. I passed a hand over other parts of my body and felt no other bruises.

Urgent knocking on the door window drew my attention to a frantic-looking man. “Are you OK? Do you need me to call an ambulance?”

I shook my head more slowly and unhooked my seatbelt. “No, thanks. I’m good.”

car_tree_470

It’s interesting how “I’m good” has come to mean “I’m unhurt”, “I’m satisfied with the situation”, “Things are copasetic”. This has changed from the time when being good meant having good character, doing good behavior. Jesus himself said no one was good except God alone. (Mark 10:17-18)

Certainly, only God is good in Himself. And He did make all of Creation and call it “good”. He did create Humanity and call them “very good”. (Genesis 1:31)

However, rebellion against His will corrupted all of Creation and none of it is good without His redeeming it. This is especially true of Humanity. We are really good at rebelling against God and corrupting the good things He has given us.

As a result, life in this world is hard. The book of Lamentations details how hard things got for Jerusalem when the Babylonians put it under seige and they refused to surrender to God’s judgment.

Yet, in the middle of the book are some of my favorite words from God. “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” (Lamentations 3:19-23) //

Listen to what John Piper said about Life Is Hard. God Is Good.

No, people are not good, despite all the hype about someone being a “good man” or a “godly woman”. We deserve only the agony and death of the Cross. (More on that later.) God alone is good but He has redeemed us out of our rebellion, our bondage to evil and death. And He has turned around the lives of so many people and shown through them His goodness.

Discussion questions

Are you good? Do you really believe that is good enough for God?

(Coming soon: The only thing we all deserve is the Cross.)

© 2015.

Leave a Reply

Categories

